Crit Hit at GenCon Entry 0: The Night Before

It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year

 

It’s GenCon week! It’s the largest board game and TTRPG event of the year, which means lots of cool news, lots of new products to try and lots of creative people to meet and talk to. This GenCon will be particularly remarkable due to the 50-year anniversary of D&D as well as the lingering aftermath of the CRIT Awards’ decision to step away from the convention over safety concerns.

I’ve been excited about this for months and have quite a few interviews set up here in the next few days. I’ll be there at the event, so feel free to say hello!

I do want to note a quick thread today that I think is newsworthy. Several creators and journalists (not me as I had to do my real job) were presented with a briefing from Wizards of the Coast today, which offered a lot of interesting insights into both the new products, the new rules and the upcoming Wizards-owned VTT known as Sigil (a good name choice, by the way. My Planescape-loving heart is delighted by this.) Comicbook.com’s Christian Hoffer and the Dungeon Dudes got all the key details if you’re curious.

I’m also going to be doing my very best to collect all of the big stories of the day into a short email for you to enjoy, whether it be keynotes, interesting remarks from creators or new products. If you hear or see anything while there, let me know via X or Discord.

I also have a few scoops I’m planning to unveil in the next 1-2 days, so stay tuned!