GenCon Days 2-3: Ennies and Beyond

The Big Winners of the Award Season

Greetings readers! So I’ve been having some issues with allergies, so I’ll admit I didn’t get to be as out on the con floor as I hoped to the last two days. That’s why I’m combining days two and three news-wise into a single issue.

THE ENNIES:
This is the big story of Friday night. The Ennies, which is considered by some to be one of the most prominent TTRPG award series, revealed their final selections.

The Shadowdark RPG won the most awards, receiving both Product of the Year and Best Game. It won six awards overall, which is definitely a feat for the company. I’ll admit I’m not familiar with Shadowdark (much to my shame) but I am excited to learn more and give it a read and perhaps even DM a session or two when I can. Definitely a big win for you OSR nerds, however.

Other notable victors included Justin Alexander, who won Best Book for So You Want to Be a Game Master and Best Online Content for his blog The Alexandrian. He’s an older GM in mindset but I find so much of what he offers in things like his remix to be massively helpful.

Also Shout-out to Delta Green: God’s Teeth for receiving “Best Adventure., longform.” It’s a campaign I am DYING to run. Maybe one day…

I am curious how these sorts of awards affect whether players actually play games, but I suppose that’s something to be researched another day.

Full list is available on Polygon.

OTHER NEWS:

I’m still working on some interviews, so we’ll see if I can get those to print this week. But other stories I heard:

The Griffon’s Saddlebag, a collection of magical items from Hit Point Press is coming to DnDBeyond. More will come soon!

The Starfinder 2 Playtest character creator is available on the Demiplane Nexus. Seems Paizo is following Daggerheart’s pattern of putting the playtest on a digital platform for others to try out. I honestly think gestures like this will make adoption SO easy.

Talisman Adventures, an RPG based on the board game of the same name, is being produced by Cubicle 7.

Til tomorrow!